Friday, 1 July, 2022

Countdown to country’s biggest ever Bashundhara Media Award

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 30th May, 2022 05:59:33 PM
  • Print news

The country sees the biggest ever award for the journalists organised by the Bashundhara Group.

Bashundhara Media Award 2021 is set to be held at International Convention City Bashundhara (ICCB) in the capital Monday evening.

Eleven journalists selected by a competent jury board for the best reporting and photography in five categories will receive award, crest, scarves and award money in a grand gala ceremony.

Besides, one journalist from each of 64 districts will receive award, crest and cash in recognition of their contribution to the field of journalism.

The award committee also confirmed that reports of journalists from media outlets of Bashundhara Group have been kept out of the purview of the award to maintain highest ethical standard and neutrality.

Having covered by print and electronic media, the programme will go live on TV channels and social media platforms.

The best three will get the award from each category of the Liberation War, Crime and Corruption, and Women and Children, for reports published in print, online and electronic media.

Two journalists will be awarded for investigative documentary and photography. Each winner will receive Tk 2,50,000 in cash, a crest and a certificate.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud will grace the occasion as the chief guest in the event to be chaired by ‘Bashundhara Media Awards 2021’ Organising Committee Convener and Bashundhara Group Managing Director Sayem Sobhan Anvir.

Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan will inaugurate the award ceremony. Bangladesh Press Council Chairman Justice Nizamul Haque Nassim and ‘Bashundhara Media Award 2021’ Jury Board chief Prof Md Golam Rahman will be present as the special guest.

Popular film actor and alumni of the Department of Journalism at Dhaka University Ferdous Ahmed and film actress and former news presenter Shobnom Bubly will anchor the programme.