Saturday, 28 May, 2022

EC Reconstitution: AL joins dialogue with President today

  • Special Correspondent
  • 17th January, 2022 10:00:57 AM
  • Print news
EC Reconstitution: AL joins dialogue with President today
File photo.

Popular News

Ruling Awami League will hold talks with President M Abdul Hamid on the reconstitution of the next Election Commission today.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, also the president of the Awami League, leads a 10-member delegation for the talks at Bangabhaban.

Bangabhaban sources said that the meeting will be held at 4:00pm.

The delegation comprises General Secretary Obaidul Quader, AL advisory council members Amir Hossain Amu and Tofail Ahmed, presidium members-- Matiya Chowdhury, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Dr Muhammad Abdur Razzaque, Lt Col (Rtd) Muhammad Faruq Khan, Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman.

The President has initiated the talks with registered political parties to have their opinions in reconstituting the EC as the tenure of the incumbent EC will end on February 14.

Some 32 political parties had so far been invited for the talks that began on December 20 last.

Attending the talks on the first day, main opposition Jatiya Party placed three proposals, including formulation of separate law, for reconstitution of the EC before the President.

Like the two previous occasions, the President may form a search committee comprising noted citizens to have names for the new EC, which will oversee the next general elections staled for 2023.

The members of the search committee may propose names for the Chief Election Commissioner and four other commissioners.

Major opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party, which attended the previous two talks, has decided not to join the talks this time.

Some six other small parties have also followed the path of the BNP.

The term of the current Election Commission, led by KM Nurul Huda, will end on February 14. The president will have to appoint the new Election Commission by then.

The country has now 39 registered political parties, according to the EC website and only nine of them have representation in Parliament.

The nine parties are Bangladesh Awami League, Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Ganoforum, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Jatiya Party-JP.