Tuesday, 24 May, 2022

Ivy, Taimur cast their votes

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 16th January, 2022 11:07:00 AM
  • Print news
Ivy, Taimur cast their votes

Ruling Awami League nominee candidate Selina Hayat Ivy and Independent mayoral candidate Taimur Alam Khandakar have cast their vote in the Narayanganj City Corporation election.

Taimur Alam Khandakar voted at around 8:30am at the Narayanganj Islamia Kamil Madrasa Centre in Masdair while Selina Hayat Ivy at Deubhog Kalrab polling center at around 10:45am.

Both of the candidates had previously visited several centres.

"I will win the election with over a lakh votes. Situation seems peaceful till now, we can tell fully after the counting of votes," Taimur said after casting his vote.

Voting began at 8am today in 192 centres across three Narayanganj City Corporation regions (city, port, and Siddhirganj), and will continue until 4pm. This time, voters will use electronic voting machines (EVM) to cast their votes.

Seven candidates are running for the post of the NCC mayor.

Besides, 148 candidates are contesting for 27 ward councilors post while 38 women are contesting for conserved seats for women in the NCC polls.

This time the NCC elections have 517,357 voters – including 257,519 females.

However, there are some 42,418 first-time voters.