Monday, 23 May, 2022

HC issues contempt rule against CEC, four others

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 2nd January, 2022 10:45:22 PM
  • Print news

The High Court has issued a contempt of court rule against the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and four other officials for publishing the election results of a Union Parishad in Chattogram flouting its order.

A division bench comprising Justice Mamnoon Rahman and Justice Khandaker Diliruzzaman issued the rule on Sunday.

In the rule, the HC asked the CEC and other officials to show cause as to why they shall not be punished for contempt of court for violating its order.

Four others facing contempt rule are Secretary of the Election Commission, Deputy Commissioner of Chattorgram, Upazila Nirbahi Officer of Rangunia and presiding officer of Chhainipara Government Primary School centre of Ranguni.

Ahmed Kabir, a candidate for election to the post of member in Pomra Union Parishad in Rangunia, filed the writ petition alleging vote rigging.

The election was held on November 28 last year. The petitioner registered a complaint in writing with Upazila Nirbahi Officer and regional election officer in Chattogram zone on December 2, 2021.

He filed a writ petition with the High Court challenging election results on account of irregularities. The High Court, on December 6 last year, directed the respondents to investigate vote rigging and take necessary steps. The HC also asked the authorities not to publish gazette until or unless the dispute is resolved.

Violating the HC order, the Election Commission officials concerned published gazette on December 23.

Barrister ABM Altaf Hossain appeared for contempt petitioner while DAG Amti Das Gupta for the state.