Tuesday, 18 January, 2022

JUTA gets new executive body

  • JU Correspondent
  • 30th December, 2021 10:52:31 AM
  • Print news
JUTA gets new executive body

Popular News

The 15-member executive committee of Jahangirnagar University Teachers’ Association (JUTA) was formed with Prof. Laek Sazzad Andallah of Mathematics department as President and Professor Dr. Md. Motaher Hossain of Institue of Business Administration as General Secretary for the next one year.

Chief Election Commissioner Prof. Dr. Tahmina Ferdous of Physics department announced the polls results on Wednesday night.

Prof Ismot Ara of Zoology department, Prof Shahed Rana of Chemistry department and Prof Dr Muhammad Sayadur Rahman of Public Administration department were elected vice-president, joint secretary and treasurer respectively.

The other executive members of the body are Prof Dr. M. Shamim Kaisar of Institute of Information Technology, Prof Dr. Akber Hossain of Anthropology department, Prof Dr. Mohammad Nayeem Aziz Ansari of Geography department, Prof Dr. Jugal Krishna Das of Computer Science and Engineering department, Prof Bulbul Ahmed of Archeology department, Prof Dr Sohel Rana of Pharmacy department, Associate Professor Fahmida Akhter of Drama and Dramatics department, Prof Dr. Syeda Fahliza Begum of Geological Sciences department, Prof Dr. Md Monwar Hossain of Zoology department and Prof Dr Syed Hafizur Rahman of Environmental Sciences department.

Earlier, a total of 578 teachers out of 606 exercised their franchise at the polls held in the university’s teachers’ club. The voting started from 9am and continued till 1.30pm without any break.

Mentionable, the VC-backed teachers contested the polls under the banner of “Bangabandhu Shikkhak Parishad” while the anti-VC platform, an alliance of pro-Awami League and pro-BNP teachers is named “Shikkhak Oikko Forum”.

Out of 15 posts, the VC-backed teachers’ panel won twelve including president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer while the anti VC teachers’ panel won three posts including joint secretary.