Friday, 29 September, 2023

Tamim, Mashrafe roped in by Dhaka for BPL 2022

Bangladesh ODI captain Tamim Iqbal and former captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza have been roped in by Dhaka for the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier League (BPL) which is set to be played from January 21 in three venues in Dhaka, Chattogram and Sylhet.

A total of six teams are taking part in the new season of BPL. Five of them are sponsored by local business groups while one, Dhaka, is sponsored by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

Ismail Haider Mallick, the member secretary of BPL, said, at the start of the player draft on Monday at a hotel in Dhaka, that the Dhaka team is owned by BCB for now.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, no BPL was held in 2020 and 2021.

The other teams that are taking place in this season of BPL are based on Fortune Barishal, Cumilla Victorians, Chattogram Challengers, Khulna Tigers and Sylhet Sunrisers.