Thursday, 27 January, 2022

Omicron scare: India adds Bangladesh in list of ‘at-risk’ countries

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 29th November, 2021 06:50:36 PM
  • Print news
Omicron scare: India adds Bangladesh in list of ‘at-risk’ countries

Amid the Omicron scare, the government of India has released revised travel guidelines to check the spread of the Omicron variant of coronavirus.

It has also released a list of ‘at risk’ countries, which Omicron cases have been detected.

Although no case of Omicron is detected in Bangladesh but India has added Bangladesh in a list of "at risk" countries from where travellers would need to follow additional measures, including RT-PCR test on self-expenditure, on arrival in India.

The rules are meant to contain the spread of Omicron variant.

As per the new guidelines released by the Indian government, the UK, entire Europe and 10 countries - South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore and Israel - are “at risk”.

The government of India on Friday included Hong Kong, the Special Administrative Region of China, and Israel in the list of countries from where travellers would need to follow additional measures on arrival in India.

After a long hiatus of more than 20 months, the government of India on November 26 announced the resumption of scheduled international commercial flights from December 15. Flights are currently on under bilateral bubble arrangements with countries.

As per the revised guidelines for international arrivals in India which will come into the effect from December 1 in view of the threat of the new coronavirus variant Omicron.

Under the revised guidelines, the Centre makes it mandatory for international passengers entering India to submit 14-days travel details and upload negative RT-PCR test report on the Air Suvidha portal before the journey. This test should have been conducted within 72 hours prior to undertaking the journey.

As per Health Ministry's guidelines, travellers from 'countries at-risk' will need to take the COVID test post-arrival & wait for results at the airport. If tested negative they'll follow, home quarantine for 7 days. Re-test on 8th day & if negative, further self-monitor for next 7 days.

“Travellers from countries excluding those 'countries at risk' will be allowed to leave the airport and shall self-monitor health for 14 days' post-arrival. A sub-section (5% of total flight passengers) shall undergo post-arrival testing at random at the airport on arrival,” the guidelines state.

Children under five years of age remain exempted from both pre- and post-arrival testing. However, if found symptomatic for COVID-19 on arrival or during home quarantine period, they shall undergo testing and treated as per laid down protocol.