Sunday, 17 October, 2021

Commerce ministry recommends 3 names to HC for formation of Evaly board

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 13th October, 2021 06:33:56 PM
  • Print news
Commerce ministry recommends 3 names to HC for formation of Evaly board

Popular News

The Ministry of Commerce has submitted names of three former secretaries to High Court for formation of a board to assess liabilities of embattled e-commerce company Evaly. 

The ministry submitted the names on Wednesday, a day after apex court decided  to form a four member board of Evaly.

Nominated persons are former land secretary Maksudur Rahman Patwari, former LGRD secretary Md Rezaul Ahsan and former chairman of Land Reform Board Yakub Ali Patwari.

A single bench comprising Justice Muhammad Khurshid Alam is set to pass verdict on the formation of the board next week after reviewing the proposed names.

However, the HC has decided to form a four-member board comprising a former judge, a chartered accountant, a secretary and a lawyer.

On October 11, Registrar of the Joint Stock Companies and Firms (RJSC) submitted relevant documents of Evaly to the HC, following a directive.

The High Court, on September 30, sought all papers of Evaly Ltd to examine whether a board of directors can be formed to assess liabilities and run it properly.

Md Farhad Hossen, an aggrieved customer, filed a writ petition seeking necessary directives to wind up the company and refund the money of the people who made advances to Evaly but did not get delivery of expected products.