Sunday, 28 November, 2021

I did not asked for any vote: Nazmul

  • Staff Correspondent
  • 7th October, 2021 05:19:13 PM
  • Print news
I did not asked for any vote: Nazmul

Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hassan said on Thursday that he did not asked for any votes from the councilors in the just concluded board election. 

Nazmul will run the office for the third consecutive time as he is elected unopposed by his newly-formed board of directors at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium on Thursday.

"The election this time was free and fair and there is no doubt about that. People cast their vote and it was the main thing." he said adding that he did not asked for any votes.

‘’Actually I didn’t want any vote from the councilors as I wanted to see about my popularity,’’ he said. 

Nazmul, who became the BCB boss for the first time in 2012 and was later re-elected for the post twice, didn’t have to run in the election in 2013 and 2017 respectively as he won both the elections unopposed.

However, this time Nazmul had to run in the election after 16 aspiring candidates fought in category 2 – Dhaka Metro Club Representatives but he overcame the hurdle easily by achieving the highest number of 53 votes along with Gazi Golam Murtaza and Enayet Hossain.

Najib Ahmed (51), Mahbubul Anam (47), Ismail Haider Mallick (52) and Manzur Kader (49) also successfully retained their positions in the BCB while they also got six new directors - Obeid Rashid Nizam (51), Salahuddin Chowdhury (49), Fahim Sinha (50), Iftekhar Rahman (50), Manzur Kader (49) and Manzur Alam Manzu (46) for the next four-year tenure.

Masuduzzaman (five), Saiful Islam Bhuiyan (10), Abdur Rahman (six) and Mohammad Rafiqul Islam (10) were the four losing candidates in the category.

Meanwhile, former national skipper Khaled Mashud Pilot conceded a 2-7 votes defeat to Saiful Alam Swapon Chowdhury in the Rajshahi Division subcategory of category 1 – Regional and District Cricket Association Representatives.

Another national skipper Naimur Rahman, however, managed to hold his position in the BCB by getting elected in the election from the Dhaka Division subcategory along with Tanvir Ahmed Titu with both receiving 17 votes each.

Other two candidates in the subcategory - Syed Asfaqul Islam Titu and Khalid Hossain had earlier withdrawn their names from the election but their name was on the ballot paper during the vote casting.

In category 3, former national skipper Khaled Mahmud Sujon defeated renowned local coach Nazmul Abedin Fahim by 37-3 votes to retain his directorship in the BCB.

Abedin, however, was hopeful that his participation in the election would inspire others to run in the election in upcoming years.

“I think my participation in the election is a message to them, who want to work for the betterment of the country’s cricket and have the ambition to become a decision-maker,” Abedin told The Daily Sun.

“Out of 42 I’ve managed only three votes, still somehow not feeling embarrassed!” he wrote on his Facebook account after the result announcement.  The election was earlier held between 10:00am to 05:00pm.