Monday, 25 October, 2021

Large number of BCB employees to receive councillorship

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 19th September, 2021 10:23:34 PM
  • Print news

Nine regular employees along with a director of the Bangladesh Cricket Board submitted their councillorship form on Sunday in two different quotas -- players and former captain -- ahead of their upcoming Board of Directors’ Election 2021.

The BCB sources confirmed the development to The Daily Sun adding that election activities have been geared up as the last date of the councillorship form submission ends on Monday
The former national captains’ quota (five) will be filled by Minhajul Abedin, Habibul Bashar, Rajin Saleh, Roqibul Hasan and Faruk Ahmed while the players’ quota (10) will be filled by Khaled Mahmud, Selim Sahed, Sazzad Ahmed, Azam Iqbal, Ahsanullah Hasan, Nafees Iqbal, Hasibul Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Hannan Sarkar and Faisal Hossain Dickens.
Among the 15 councillors only Faruk Ahmed, Rajin Saleh, Selim Shahed, Azam Iqbal and Ahsanullah Hasan are not directly involved with the BCB.
Mahmud is a board director while the other nine individuals are employed by the BCB in different categories such as -- members of the selection panel, coaches of BCB game development and umpires committee member and match referee.
The BCB’s newly formed election commission began its activities on September 16 ahead of conducting the election and they are expecting to host it by the first week of October.
Some new faces are expected to grace the directors meeting in the upcoming days.
Before the 2013 polls, the Bangladesh government used to select a BCB president. It will be the seventh BCB elections overall having earlier been held in 1998, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2017.
Similar to past elections, a total of 23 directors will be elected through votes from 172 councillors of various entities from around the country.