Thursday, 21 October, 2021

Hockey players’ transfer starts Sunday amid controversy

  • Sports Correspondent
  • 18th September, 2021 09:51:00 PM
  • Print news

The players’ transfer window of the much-awaited Premier Division Hockey League will get underway on Sunday.
A total of 12 teams -- Mohammedan, Abahani Ltd, Mariner Young’s Club, Sonali Bank, Ajax SC, Victoria SC, Wari Club, Bangladesh Sporting, Shadharan Bima, Police, Dilkusha SC and Azad SC – will take part in the upcoming edition of the league.
Each team will be allowed to recruit seven foreign players, five players from services teams and four players from Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protisthan.
The window will end on September 23 while the new domestic season will start with the Club Cup on October 12.  
Meanwhile, the transfer session got heated up a day before starting as Mariner Young’s Club accused Mohammedan of stealing their player Sarwar Murshed Shawon.
Mohammedan also accused Mariners officials and supporters of vandalism on their club premises. Later, the tension that rose over Shawon finally ended after the local police station resolved the conflict between the clubs.

Shawon informed that he would play for Mohammedan.
The last edition of the league was held in 2018.