Friday, 17 September, 2021

Bangladeshi scientist Dr Firdausi Qadri wins ‘Ramon Magsaysay Award’ 2021

Bangladeshi scientist Dr Firdausi Qadri wins ‘Ramon Magsaysay Award’ 2021

Popular News

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 31st August, 2021 02:09:54 PM
  • Print news

The Ramon Magsaysay Award 2021 also known as Asia’s Nobel Prize has been presented to Bangladeshi scientist Dr Firdausi Qadri.

This award is given every year to individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the eradication of poverty and the development of the society in Asia.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation board of trustees recognises her passion and life-long devotion to the scientific profession; her vision of building the human and physical infrastructure that will benefit the coming generation of Bangladeshi scientists, women scientists in particular, and her untiring contributions to vaccine development, advanced biotechnological therapeutics and critical research that has been saving millions of precious lives.

Dr Qadri is a senior scientist at the Mucosal Immunology and Vaccinology Unit at the Infectious Diseases Division of International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease and Research, Bangladesh (icddr,b).

Two other recipients of the award are- Mohammad Amjad Saqib from Pakistan and Steven Muncy from South-East Asia.

The annual award was established to perpetuate former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay's example of integrity in governance, courageous service to the people, and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society.

The prize was established in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government.