Friday, 17 September, 2021

Sri Lanka wins T20 series against India

Sri Lanka wins T20 series against India

Popular News

Leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga recorded a career-best four wickets for nine runs Thursday as Sri Lanka beat India by seven wickets in the third and final Twenty20 international and clinched the three-match series 2-1.

It was Sri Lanka’s first T20 series win since their 3-0 victory against Pakistan in 2019. They had lost five consecutive series since then. India’s loss comes after six consecutive series wins.

India captain Shikar Dhawan won the toss and chose to bat first but Sri Lanka’s bowlers restricted them to 81-8 in 20 overs with Kuldeep Yadav top scoring with 23 batting at No. 7. It was India’s third lowest total in the shortest format of cricket.

Captain Dasun Shanaka also picked up two wickets for Sri Lanka.

In reply Sri Lanka reached 82-3 with 33 deliveries to spare.

Dhananjaya de Silva, who carried Sri Lanka to victory in the second match on Wednesday, remained not out on 23 while Hasaranga on his 24th birthday also made 14 not out.