Sunday, 19 September, 2021

Bangladesh to host V20 Climate Vulnerable Finance Summit on July 8

  • Diplomatic Correspondent
  • 30th June, 2021 10:31:30 PM
  • Print news
Bangladesh to host V20 Climate Vulnerable Finance Summit on July 8

Popular News

The government of Bangladesh will host the first ever virtual V20 Climate Vulnerable Finance Summit on 8 July.

The Summit will feature Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, heads of state from Climate Vulnerable Forum member countries and V20 Finance Ministers to mobilise more robust economic and finance responses to the spiraling dual crisis that increasingly affects the world’s most vulnerable economies.

Bangladesh is currently chair of the Climate Vulnerable Forum and the V20 Group of Finance Ministers.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will deliver keynote speech at the summit while Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal will chair the session.

Speaker of People’s Majlis of the Maldives, Mohamed Nasheed will be the moderator of the summit session.

The inaugural session will be addressed, among others, by Rishi Sunak, Chancellor of the Exchequer, United Kingdom, John Kerry, US Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, António Guterres, Secretary-General, United Nations, David Malpass, President, the World Bank, Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director, International Monetary Fund and Ban Kim Moon, Board Chair, Global Center on Adaptation.

Heads of state, including Prime Minister of Independent State of Samoa Fiame Naomi Mataʻafa, President of Colombia Iván Duque Márquez and President of Ethiopia Sahle-Work Zewde will attend the summit.

Finance Ministers from Afghanistan, Bhutan, Costa Rica, Republic of Marshall Islands, Timor-Leste, Vietnam, Assistant Secretary, Department of Finance of Philippines, Undersecretary of Credit and Public Investment, Ministry of Finance of Honduras, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Economy and Finance of South Korea and Parliamentary State Secretary for Economic Cooperation and Development of Germany will join the summit.

Director-General, International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), Green Climate Fund (GCF) and ASEAN+3 Macroeconomic Research Office (AMRO) are the partners of the summit.

Formed in 2015, the V20 Group of Finance Ministers is a dedicated cooperation initiative of economies systematically vulnerable to climate change. It is currently chaired by the Bangladesh.

The V20 membership stands at 48 economies including Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Fiji, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Kiribati, Lebanon, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Niger, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Senegal, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Viet Nam and Yemen.