OCAB forms new convening committee

Sun Online Desk

24th April, 2021 11:36:56 printer

OCAB forms new convening committee

Qadir Kallol (left) and Nazrul Islam Mithu (right)

A new Convening Committee of the Overseas Correspondents Association Bangladesh (OCAB), a platform of Dhaka-based journalists working for foreign media, was announced on Saturday.

The nine-member committee, headed by BBC’s Correspondent Qadir Kallol, will be working to hold a new election within six months (minimum). Germany’s news agency DPA’s Nazrul Islam Mithu has been made Member Secretary of the committee. The convening coming committee will also conduct regular activities of the prestigious organization before holding a new election.

The new development came in a virtual meeting presided over by senior OCAB member Farid Hossain.

The other members of the newly formed committee are: Zahiduzzaman Faruque, Farid Hossain, Rafiqur Rahman, Bashudeb Dhar, Shafiqul Alam, Julhas Alam and Harun ur Rashid.

In the meeting, OCAB members adopted a condolence motion for the late members of the association. They extended their sympathy to the families of Hassan Shahriar, Jaglul Ahmed Chowdhury, Zahirul Haque, AZM Anas and others. The meeting also congratulated OCAB member Pavel Rahman for being awarded with Ekushey Padak this year.

The meeting also provided membership to 11 Dhaka-based journalists working for foreign media.

OCAB members Zahiduzzman Faruque, Matiur Rahman Chowdhury, Pavel Rahman, Amir Khasru, Nizamuddin Ahmed, Bashudeb Dhar, Waliur Rahman Miraj and Anisur Rahman attended the meeting, among others.