Monday, 25 October, 2021

Kabori laid to rest at Banani graveyard

  • Sun Online Desk
  • 17th April, 2021 03:03:40 PM
  • Print news
Kabori laid to rest at Banani graveyard

Popular News

Eminent Actress and former Member of Parliament (MP) Sarah Begum Kabori has been laid to eternal rest at the Banani graveyard in the capital on Saturday afternoon following her namaz-e-janaza after Johr prayers.

Before burial, ‘Misti Meye’ Kabori was given the guard of honour in front of the graveyard in Dhaka.

Earlier, the actress died after contracting the coronavirus at Sheikh Russell National Gastroliver Institute and Hospital around 12:20am.

According to family and hospital sources, Kabori was admitted to Kurmitola General Hospital in the capital on April 5 while she was testing positive for Covid-19. Later, she was shifted to the ICU in Sheikh Russel National Gastroliver Institute and Hospital on April 8.

As her condition deteriorated, she was put on life support at the hospital on April 15.

The 70-year-old actress had been suffering from kidney complications for a long time. Her lungs also suffered severe damage after contracting Covid-19.

Actress Kabori was born on 19 July 1950 in Banshkhali, Chittagong district. Her real name is Mina Pal.

She made her film debut with “Sutorang” in 1964 under the direction of Subhash Dutt.

She has acted in more than one hundred films She has acted in more than one hundred films. ‘Sat Bhai Champa’, ‘Jalchhabi’, ‘Binimoy’, ‘Deep Nebhe Nai’, ‘Titash Ekti Nodir Nam’, ‘Rangbaj’, ‘Sujan Sakhi’, ‘Agantuk’, ‘Nil Akasher Niche’, ‘Moynamoti’, ‘Sareng Bou’, ‘Debdas’, ‘Hiramon’, ‘Chorabali’, ‘Paruler Sangshar’ are notable among them.

She received many awards and honors for her performance, including the National Film Awards, Meril-Prothom Alo Lifetime Achievement Award. She was known as the ‘Mishti Meye’ of Bangladeshi silver screen.

Besides acting in films, she was also active in politics. In 2008, Kabori was elected as Member of Parliament (MP) from Narayanganj-4 constituency on the nomination of Awami League(AL).