Variants of Concern: Bangladesh to join UK's red list of over 30 countries


2nd April, 2021 07:33:23 PM printer

Variants of Concern: Bangladesh to join UK's red list of over 30 countries

Bangladesh, the Philippines, Pakistan and Kenya will be added to England’s red list over 30 countries from April 9, says the UK's Department for Transport on Friday. 

From 4am on Friday 9 April, international visitors who have departed from or transited through Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh in the previous 10 days will be refused entry into England. 

British, Irish and third-country nationals with residence rights (including long-term visa holders) arriving from these countries will be required to self-isolate in a government-approved hotel quarantine facility for 10 days. The move follows new data showing an increased risk of importation of variants of concern.

Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh will be added to England’s red list to protect the country against new variants of coronavirus (COVID-19), at a critical time for the vaccine programme, said the UK government. 

With over 30 million vaccinations delivered in the UK so far, the additional restrictions will help to reduce the risk of new variants – such as those first identified in South Africa (SA) and Brazil – entering England, said the UK government. 

So far, surveillance has found that few cases of the SA variant have been identified as being imported from Europe, with most coming from other parts of the world.

Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights in the UK (including long-term visa holders), will be allowed to enter and they must stay in a government-approved quarantine facility for 10 days. 

They will also be required to arrive into a designated port. 

No direct flight bans from these countries will be put in place, but passengers are advised to check their travel plans before departing for England.

During their stay, passengers will be required to take a coronavirus test on or before day 2 and on or after day 8, and they will not be allowed to shorten their quarantine period on receipt of a negative test result. 

They will also not be able to end their managed quarantine early through the Test to Release scheme.

British nationals currently in the countries on the red list should make use of the commercial options available if they wish to return to England. 

Commercial routes that will enable British and Irish nationals and residents to return to England continue to operate.

British nationals in these countries should check Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) travel advice and follow local guidance. The FCDO will continue to offer tailored consular assistance to British nationals in need of support overseas on a 24/7 basis.