England win toss, bowl in first India ODI


23rd March, 2021 02:39:08 printer

England win toss, bowl in first India ODI

England skipper Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bowl in the first of the three one-day internationals against India on Tuesday.

Moeen Ali and Sam Billings return to the 50-over team in Pune after sitting out England’s 3-2 loss in the Twenty20 series.

“It looks a good wicket with grass on it. We’re looking forward to it, it’s a different challenge,” said Morgan.

“There’s a long-term view in this format so we’re giving guys an opportunity to stake their claim and grow the squad.”

India handed ODI caps to all-rounder Krunal Pandya and medium-pace bowler Prasidh Krishna.

KL Rahul will bat at number five and keep wicket.

Captain Virat Kohli said he was happy to bat first. “The weather is going to drastically change in the evening. It’s a great opportunity for us to put runs on the board.”


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli (capt), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jos Buttler, Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

Umpires: KN Ananthapadmanabhan (IND), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV umpire: Anil Chaudhary (IND)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)