Wednesday, 20 October, 2021

Court receives sedition case against 4 BNP leaders in Rajshahi

A local court has received a sedition case against four leaders of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) Tuesday on charge of their derogatory remarks against Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Metropolitan Magistrate Saiful Islam received the case and also recorded deposition of the case’s plaintiff. The BNP leaders are: former Rajshahi Mayor Mijanur Rahman Minu, BNP Organizing Secretary Ruhul Quddus Dulu, former mayor and Rajshahi city unit president Mosaddeque Hossain Bulbul and General Secretary Shafuqul Haque Bulbul.

Legal Affairs Secretary of Rajshahi City unit of Bangladesh Awami League Advocate Mosabbirul Islam is the plaintiff of the case and Organizing Secretary Advocate Aslam Sarker submitted the case on behalf of the plaintiff.

Rajshahi Mayor AHM Khairuzzaman Liton accompanied by scores of leaders and lawyers were present at the court when the case was filed. After filing the case Mayor Liton talked to the newsmen saying that they got recommendation from the Ministry of Home for filing the sedition case.

It may be mentioned here that some BNP leaders including Mijanur Rahman Minu in their divisional meeting on March 2 made some derogatory remarks against Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.