Kings in seventh heaven

Sports Correspondent

8th February, 2021 06:47:19 printer

Kings in seventh heaven

Bashundhara Kings players celebrate after scoring a goal against Muktijoddha Sangsad KC during their Bangladesh Premier League Football match at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla on Monday. – BFF Photo

Bashundhara Kings continued their domination in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League as they extended their winning streak to seven matches with a 3-0 goal win over Muktijoddha Sangsad krira Chakra at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla on Monday.

Brazilian forward Robson Azevedo Da Silva Robinho, Argentine forward Raul Oscar Bacerra and forward Tawhidul Alam Sabuz scored one goal each for Kings.

The reigning champions now have 21 points, five points ahead of the second-placed Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, who played two games less.

Muktijoddha are in 11th place of 13-team competition with only three points from six matches.

Robson opened the account for Kings with a right-footer grounder from inside the box in the 10th minute (1-0). Raul extended the margin utilizing a backheel from Robson in the 45th minute (2-0). Substitute Local forward Sabuz, who came in the place of Matin Mia, sealed the fate of the match, off a pass from Raul in the 75th minute (3-0).

In the day’s other match, Chittagong Abahoni Limited shared points with Uttar Baridhara Club after playing a 2-2 draw at the Bangabandhu National Stadium.

Brazilian forward Nixon Guylherme Rocha Brizolara and midfielder Kawsar Ali Rabbi netted one each for Ctg Abahoni Ltd in the 40th and injury time (90+3 minute) respectively while two local forwards Sumon Reza and Arif Hossen scored one each for Uttar Baridhara in the 56th and 74th minute respectively.

Sheikh Jamal DC will play against Dhaka Abahani Limited while Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra face Arambagh Krira Sangha at the Bangabandhu National Stadium today.

In the other game, Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited will host Police Football Club at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium today.

Sheikh Jamal DC are in second place with 15 points while Dhaka Abahani Ltd are in third with 14 points and Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra are in fourth with 13 points.

Police FC are placed in eighth with seven points and Mohammedan SC are in ninth with six points.

Arambagh KS are yet to open their account in the point table.