Govt appoints VCs at Chandpur, Kishoreganj universities

Staff Correspondent

27th January, 2021 09:03:51 printer

Govt appoints VCs at Chandpur, Kishoreganj universities

The government appointed Vice-chancellors at the newly-established two public universities --Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman University in Kishoreganj and Chandpur Science and Technology University.

Education Ministry’s Secondary and Higher Education Division on Tuesday issued separate notifications regarding the appointment of the two vice-chancellors at the two new public universities.

Dr Z M Parvaz Sazzad, a professor of Electrical & Electronics Engineering (EEE) department of Dhaka University, will serve as the VC of the Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman University in Kishorganj for the next four years.

Besides, Dr Md Nasim Akhtar, a professor and director of Computer center at Dhaka Engineering and Technology University (DUET) as the first vice-chancellor of Chandpur Science and Technology University for next four-year.

President Md Abdul Hamid, also the chancellor of the universities, made the appointments following the laws of the two universities.

Earlier on September 9, last year, the parliament passed two bills for setting up the two new universities.

Education minister Dr Dipu Moni moved the bills ---‘Chandpur Science and Technology University Bill, 2020’ and 'Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman University, Kishoreganj Bill, 2020’--- in the parliament and both were passed by voice vote.