Bangladesh win toss, ask West Indies to bat first

Sun Online Desk

20th January, 2021 11:09:32 printer

Bangladesh win toss, ask West Indies to bat first

File photo.

Bangladesh won the toss and sent West Indies to bat first in the first of three-match ODI series at the Sher-e Bangla National Stadium on Wednesday.

The match is scheduled to start at 11:30am and country’s first sports channel, T-Sports will broadcast the match live.

Tigers, who last played an international match on March 11, did not wait so long to play an international fixture ever since they attained Test status more than 20 years ago and it has been a frustratingly long wait for a cricket crazy nation.

In comparison, the West Indies have played plenty of cricket in 2020 after the Covid-19 breakout including tours of England and New Zealand.

With this series, the two teams also commence their journey in the ICC World Cup Super League – a series of competitions that will determine The top eight teams of this competition will enjoy a direct entry to the World Cup 2023 in India.

This series will be marked as Shakib Al Hasan’s comeback series after serving a year-long ban imposed by the ICC for failing to report corrupt approaches made to him by the bookies.


The teams


Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Liton Das, 3 Nazmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Soumya Sarkar, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Hasan Mahmud, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Rubel Hossain


West Indies XI: 1 Sunil Ambris, 2 Joshua da Silva (wk), 3 Andre McCarthy, 4 Nkrumah Bonner, 5 Jason Mohammed (capt), 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Kyle Mayers, 8 Akeal Hosein, 9 Raymon Reifer, 10 Alzarri Joseph, 11 Chemar Holder