Border Killings: BNP plans nationwide protests on Dec 21


14th December, 2020 07:33:00 printer

Border Killings: BNP plans nationwide protests on Dec 21

Voicing deep concern over the recent killings of Bangladeshis by Indian Border Security Force (BSF), BNP has decided to register protests on December 21 across the country against the border killings.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the programme at a press conference at BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office on Monday.

He said black flags will be hoisted at all the offices of the party across the country, including its Nayapaltan central office, on December 21, while BNP leaders and activists will wear black badges or black dresses on the day.

Fakhrul said their party’s standing committee worked out the programme in protest against the indiscriminate killings of Bangladeshis along the border.

He said their standing committee is deeply worried over the killing of Bangladeshis by BSF recently in Thakurgaon and other border districts.

The BNP leader said their party standing committee thinks the border killing has long been going on unabated due to the current ‘unelected’ government’s subservient policy.

“A serious discontent has been there among people due to the government’s silent role regarding the border killings that have been carried out by violating human rights,” he said.

Fakhrul urged the government to take necessary steps to stop the border killings immediately.

At their virtual meeting on December 12, he said the BNP standing committee also strongly condemned the ‘vote robbery’ in the elections to different municipalities and union parishads on December 10

They expressed deep shock over the deaths of party leaders, including Chowdhury Kamal Ibne Yusuf, former secretary Shahidul Alam, Daily Sangbad acting editor Khandaker Muniruzzaman and other businessmen, political leaders and activists after being infected with Coronavirus.

The BNP policymakers prayed for the salvation of the departed souls and conveyed their sympathy to the bereaved family members.

Apart from Fakhrul, party standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku were present at the virtual meeting with its acting chairman Tarique Rahman in the chair.