Nomani, Mashiur elected DRU President, Gen Secy

Sun Online Desk

30th November, 2020 07:10:06 printer

Nomani, Mashiur elected DRU President, Gen Secy

Nomani(left) and Mashiur (Right)

Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) journalist Mursalin Nomani has been elected President of the Executive Committee of Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU) while Samakal journalist Mashiur Rahman Khan General Secretary.

Besides, Oslamn Gani Babul has been elected as vice-president while Arafat Daria as joint-secretary of the organisation of the reporters.

The election was held on DRU premises at Sengunbagicha in the capital on Monday.

Amid much festivity, the voting started at 9:00am and ended at 5:00pm today without any interval. Out of 1,693 voters, some 1,381 cast their votes. 

As a president candidate, Mursalin Nomani got 526 votes while nearest rival candidate Shahnewaz Dulal managed 447 votes.

Mashiur Rahman secured 692 votes for the post of general secretary while his nearest rival bagged 426 votes.

According to media report, those who were elected as other office bearers are:  Shah Alam Nur, finance secretary; Mainul Hasan Sohel, organising secretary; Md Jafar Iqbal, office secretary; Rita Nahar, women affairs secretary; Maeedur Rahman Rubel, publicity and publication secretary; Halim Mohammad, information technology and training secretary; Maksuda Lisa, sports secretary; Mizan Chowdhury, cultural affairs secretary; Mohammad Noimddin, hospitality secretary; and Khalid Saifullah, welfare secretary.

Moreover, MM Jashim, Azizur Rahman, Rumana Jaman, Mahbubur Rahman, Rafique Rafi, Nargis Jui, and Jahangir Kiron have been elected as executive member.