Voting ends in Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Sun Online Desk

17th October, 2020 06:35:02 printer

Voting ends in Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Voting in the by-elections to Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies ended at 5:00 pm on Saturday through electronic voting machines (EVMs) instead of traditional ballot papers.

Two major political parties --Bangladesh Awami League and BNP are participating in the by-polls.

The voting in the by-polls started around 9:00am and continued till 5:00pm without any break.

In the Dhaka-5 constituency, six MP candidates, including Md Kazi Monirul Islam nominated by AL and Salauddin Ahmed nominated by BNP are there in the electoral race.

The four other contenders are Mir Abdus Sabir of Jatiya Party, HM Ibrahim Bhuiyan of Gano Front, Md Arifur Rahman of NPP and Md Ansar Hossain Sikdar of Bangladesh Congress.

In the Naogaon-6 Constituency, three MP contenders –Md Anwar Hossain (Helal) of AL, Sheikh Md Rezaul Islam of BNP and Md Khandkar Intekhab Alam of NPP—are there in the polls race.

The Dhaka-5 fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Habibur Rahman Mollah on May 6 while that of Nagaon-6 following the demise of AL MP Israfil Alam on July 27.