Awami League's Nuruzzaman wins by-polls to Pabna 4

Sun Online Desk

26th September, 2020 10:32:24 printer

Awami League's Nuruzzaman wins by-polls to Pabna 4

Awami League (AL) nominated candidate Md Nuruzzaman Biswas has won the by-polls to Pabna-4 constituency unofficially, says media report.  

Three candidates -- Nuruzzaman Biswash from Awami League, Habibur Rahman Habib from BNP and Rezaul Karim from Jatiya Party – took part in the elections.

According to retuning officer, AL’s Nuruzzaman Biswash got 2,39,924 votes, BNP's Habibur Rahman Habib 5,576 votes and Jatiy Party's Rezaul Karim 3,074 votes.

Starting at 9:00am, the voting continued till 5:00pm on Saturday.

Alleging irregularities against the ruling party and administration, BNP candidate Habibur Rahman boycotted the by-poll.

He at a press conference at his residence in Shahpur village in Ishwardi upazila demanded a fresh and fair election.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant after the demise of AL lawmaker Shamsur Rahman Sherif Dilu on April 2.