By-poll to Pabna-4 held amid boycott by BNP candidate

Sun Online Desk

26th September, 2020 07:28:03 printer

By-poll to Pabna-4 held amid boycott by BNP candidate

The by-election to Pabna-4 constituency was held on Saturday amid low turnout of voters and boycott by the BNP candidate.

The voting began at 9:00am and ended at 5:00pm.

Three candidates -- Nuruzzaman Biswash from Awami League, Habibur Rahman Habib from BNP and Rezaul Karim from Jatiya Party – participated in the elections.

Bringing allegation of irregularities against the ruling party and administration, BNP candidate Habibur Rahman boycotted the by-poll.

Holding a press conference at his residence in Shahpur village in Ishwardi upazila, he also demanded a fresh and fair election.

He claimed that no BNP polling agent was present in the centre due to threat of ruling party men.

AL central committee organising secretary SM Kamal Hossain, however, refuted the allegations of the BNP candidate.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant after the demise of AL lawmaker Shamsur Rahman Sherif Dilu on April 2.