Voting in Pabna-4 by-polls underway

Sun Online Desk

26th September, 2020 10:21:46 printer

Voting in Pabna-4 by-polls underway

The voting in the by-polls to Pabna-4 constituency is underway amid public health concerns over coronavirus.

The voting began at 9:00am on Saturday and will continue till 5:00pm without any break.

The Pabna-4 parliamentary seat (Atgharia- Ishwardi) fell vacant due to the death of Awami League lawmaker Shamsur Rahman Sherif on April 2.

According to EC sources, the Pabna-4 constituency consists of two upazilas (Ishwardi and Atgharia), two municipalities and 12 unions.

There are 84 polling stations in the constituency and the total number of voters is 3 lakh 81 thousand 112.

Of these, 1 lakh 91 thousand 697 are male voters and 1 lakh 89 thousand 415 are female voters.

The Awami League has nominated Md Nuruzzaman Biswas while BNP Habibur Rahman Habib and Jatiya Party nominated Rezaul Karim for the by-polls.