1,141 constables transferred from Cox's Bazar

Sun Online Desk

25th September, 2020 03:26:04 printer

1,141 constables transferred from Cox's Bazar

Police headquarters transferred a total of 1,141 constables from Cox’s Bazar district in a major reshuffle on Friday.

The transferred constables were working in eight police stations, several police outposts, court, detective branch and traffic department in the district.

Mohammad Iqbal Hossain, Cox's Bazar's additional superintendent (admin) of police, confirmed the news.

The headquarters took the decision to shake up the Cox's Bazar police after the involvement of several police officials in retired army major Sinha Mohammad Rashed Khan killing in police firing came to the light.

Earlier, 42 police officials including 34 police inspectors, one superintendent of police, three additional SPs, one senior assistant superintendent of police, and three assistant SPs posted in Cox's Bazar, have been transferred out of the district.

Retired major Sinha was killed in police firing at Shamlapur police check-post at Teknaf's Baharchhara union, on Cox's Bazar Marine Drive, on the night of July 31.