Young Tigers’ 2022 Youth WC mission starts

Sports Correspondent

24th September, 2020 08:53:49 printer

Young Tigers’ 2022 Youth WC mission starts

A 28-member Bangladesh Under-19 National Cricket Team will begin their skill training camp on October 1 at BKSP to kick-start their mission for the 2022 Youth World Cup.

Head coach Naveed Nawaz and trainer Richard Stonier have already returned to Dhaka to join the practice of the newly formed team.

Bangladesh are the defending champions of the U-19 World Cup and initially formed the team with 47 members who did a four-week residential camp at the BKSP.

The camp began on August 23 and lasted until September 18 while in those four weeks, the players had played seven warm-up matches in a one-day format.

However, four matches have been reduced to 30 overs due to the inclement weather.

BCB trimmed the squad to 28 members according to the performance and the 28 players called up to the camp will report at the Krira Palli, Mirpur on September 29 to undergo COVID-19 tests on the following day.

“We had tried to form a balanced squad and there is a lot of variety in the squad,” junior chief selector Sazzad Ahmed told The Daily Sun.

“It is too early to predict the strength of the squad bit one thing is for sure the more they will play the more they will learn as they need to adapt to 50-over cricket considering they are coming from the different age-group level where we prefer longer version cricket,” he said.

During the camp, where the emphasis will be on skills and conditioning, the primary squad members are also scheduled to play five 50-over matches on  October 17, 18, 22, 24 and 26 respectively.

Primary Squad:

Opening Batsmen: Mofizul Islam, Emon Ali, Iftekhar Hosssin Ifti, Habibur Shaikh Munna and Prantik Nawrose Nabil.

Middle Order Batsmen: Shakib Shahriyer, Sohag Ali, Meherob Hasan , Abdullah Al Mamun, Md Khalid Hasan, Aich Mollah and Ashraful Hasan Rihad Khan.

Pacers: Musfiq Hasan, Arif Ahmed Anik, Bayazid Miya Roman, Ashiqur Zaman, Mohiuddin Tareq, Ripon Mondal and Mustakim Mia.

Spinners: Ahosun Habib Leon, Naimur Rahman Noyon and Ashraful Islam Siam.

All-rounders: Mesbah Ahmed Sana, Maksudur Rahman, Golsm Kibria, Mahfuzur Rahman Rabby, Jillur Rahman and Zakaria Islam Shanta.