Prof Arefin Siddique made BSS board chairman


15th July, 2020 07:14:34 printer

Prof Arefin Siddique made BSS board chairman

Former Vice-Chancellor of Dhaka University (DU) Professor Dr AAMS Arefin Siddique has been made chairman of the board of directors of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS), the state-run news agency.

The Ministry of Information today issued a notification in this regard, saying the government has formed a new 15-member board of directors with Dr AAMS Arefin Siddique, also a former professor of DU Mass Communication and Journalism Department, as its chief.

The board members are: BSS Managing Director and Chief Editor Abul Kalam Azad, joint secretary (press), Ministry of Information; joint secretary, Finance Division, Ministry of Finance; joint secretary, Public Security Division, Ministry of Home Affairs; joint secretary, Foreign Affairs Ministry; principal information officer (PIO), Press Information Department; Mohammad Atiqullah Khan Masud, editor, the Daily Janakantha; Altamas Kabir, editor, the Daily Sangbad; MA Malek, editor, the Daily Azadi, Chittagong; Mozammel Haque, managing director, 71 Media Limited; joint secretary, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Division; and Madhusudan Mandol, city editor, BSS.

The board was formed in line with the Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha Act 2018.

The board will function for three years according to the act, said the notification.

The order comes into effect from July 15, 2020.