Raij Uddin excluded from Swadhinata Padak recipients’ list

Sun Online Desk

12th March, 2020 05:41:59 printer

Raij Uddin excluded from Swadhinata Padak recipients’ list

Veteran freedom fighter SM Raij Uddin Ahmed, who has been selected for Swadhinata Padak-2020 in literature category, has been excluded from the list of the recipients of the award.  

Earlier on February 20, the government finalised the names of 9 eminent personalities and one institution for Swadhinata Padak-2020 for their outstanding contributions to various fields at the national level.

Those nominated for the award are: Golam Dostogir Gazi (Bir Protik), martyred Commander Abdur Rauf (posthumous), martyred intellectuals Anwar Pasha (posthumous) and Azizur Rahman in independence and Liberation War; Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Dr Professor AKMA Muqtadir in medical science; Bharateswari Homes in Tangail in education; freedom fighter SM Raisuddin Ahmed in literature; as well as kalipada Das and Ferdousi Majumdar in culture.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Swadhinata Padak to the winners and their representatives at a ceremony at the capital's Osmani Memorial Auditorium on March 25, the press release reads.

Since 1977, Bangladesh honours individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of the Independence Day.