Prime Minister administers oath to Dhaka city mayors

Sun Online Desk

27th February, 2020 11:12:02 printer

Prime Minister administers oath to Dhaka city mayors

The newly elected mayors and councillors of Dhaka south and north city corporations took oath on Thursday.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oath of office to Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Mayor Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) Mayor Atiqul Islam at Shapla Hall at the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) at 10:30 am in the capital.

Besides, Local Government, Rural Development and Co-operatives Minister Md Tazul Islam administered the oath of offices to the councellors from the general wards and reserved women’s seats in the two city corporation at the same venue.

However, the newly-elected mayors and councillors will have to wait until mid-May to take over charge as the five-year tenure of the incumbent public representatives of DSCC will expire on May 17 while that of DNCC on May 13 next.

The polls to the DSCC and DNCC were held on February 1. Awami League-backed candidates- Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh and Atiqul Islam-swept the elections as residents of the capital elected their mayors to hold the offices of DSCC and DNCC for next five years.

Alongside the two elected mayors, 100 councillors – 75 general councillors from 75 wards and 25 women councillors from 25 reserved seats — were elected in DSCC and 72 councillors – 54 general from as many wards and 18 women councillors from 18 reserved seats — in DNCC.

A gazette notification was issued on February 4. There is a legal obligation for any mayor or councillor of the city corporation to take oath within one month after the gazette is published.