Government picks 9 persons, 1 organisation for Swadhinata Padak

Sun Online Desk

20th February, 2020 08:52:45 printer

Government picks 9 persons, 1 organisation for Swadhinata Padak

The government on Thursday finalised the names of 9 eminent personalities and one institution for Swadhinata Padak-2020 for their outstanding contributions to various fields at the national level.

The cabinet division, in a press release, revealed the names of the recipients of the highest civilian award this evening.

Those nominated for the award are: Golam Dostogir Gazi (Bir Protik), martyred Commander Abdur Rauf (posthumous), martyred intellectuals Anwar Pasha (posthumous) and Azizur Rahman in independence and Liberation War; Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Dr Professor AKMA Muqtadir in medical science; Bharateswari Homes in Tangail in education; freedom fighter SM Raisuddin Ahmed in literature; as well as kalipada Das and Ferdousi Majumdar in culture. 

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Swadhinata Padak to the winners and their representatives at a ceremony at the capital's Osmani Memorial Auditorium on March 25, the press release reads.

Since 1977, Bangladesh honours individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of the Independence Day.