Elections to Chattogram City Corporation on March 29

Staff Correspondent

16th February, 2020 04:56:18 printer

Elections to Chattogram City Corporation on March 29

The elections to the Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) will be held on March 29.

Election Commission Senior Secretary Md Alamgir announced the schedule for the CCC mayoral polls at a press conference at the media centre of the Nirbachan Bhaban in the capital on Sunday.

He also said by-polls to the vacant constituencies of Bogura-1 and Jashore -6 will also be held  on the same day.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in the CCC elections while the current voter list will be followed.

The last date for submitting nomination paper is February 27. Nomination papers will be scrutunised on March 01 while candidate can make appeal over the decision on March 2-4 and disposal of appeals will be held on March 5-7, according to the schedule.  

Candidates can withdraw nomination papers on March 8 and symbol will be allocated among the candidates on March 9, he said.

Earlier, the Election Commission held a full-commission meeting to finalise the polls date for the CCC, Bogura-1 and Jashore -6 constituencies.

According to the Local Government (City Corporation) Act 2009, the election to any city corporation should be held within the last 180 days of its five-year tenure that starts with the first meeting of the corporation.

The first meeting was held in CCC on August 6 in 2015. The tenure of CCC is set to expire on August 5, 2020.

March is considered to be the suitable month for CCC elections as there is no examination or other programmes in March while the month of Ramadan will begin in April. 

The total number of voters were 18, 13,449 including 9, 37,053 man and 8,76,396 women in 2015 elections.

The incumbent mayor of CCC AJM Nasiruddin of Awami League was elected defeating the BNP candidate Manjur Alam Manju in the elections in 2015.