Ten win Bangla Academy Literary Award

Sun Online Desk

23rd January, 2020 07:50:00 printer

Ten win Bangla Academy Literary Award

The Bangla Academy on Thursday announced the names of the winners of its Literary Award 2019.

Bangla Academy Director General poet Habibullah Sirazi read out the names of the ten awardees at a press briefing in the Shaheed Munier Choudhury conference room on the Bangla Academy premises.

They include writer Wasi Ahmed and poet Makid Haider.

Rafiqul Islam Bir Uttam, a sector commander of the 1971 war and former home minister, has won the award for Liberation War research.

The other winners are Swarochish Sarkar in article or research, Khairul Alam Sabuj in translation, Rahim Shah in children’s literature, Nadira Majumder in science fiction, Faruk Moinuddin in autobiography or travelogue, and Simon Zakaria in folklore.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the award to the winners during the inauguration ceremony Ekushey Book Fair at the Burdwan House premises, where the academy is housed, on February 2.

Having been introduced in 1960, the Bangla Academy Sahitya Puroshkar (Literary Award) is annually awarded to individuals for their contribution to the advancement of Bangla literature in various categories.