Sunday, 23 January, 2022

ICC U-19 World Cup’ 2020

Bangladesh concedes 4-wicket defeat against New Zealand

  • Cricket,New Zealand,U-19 World Cup,Bangladesh,ICC U-19 World Cup’ 2020,South Africa
  • 15th January, 2020 09:01:33 PM
  • Print news
Bangladesh concedes 4-wicket defeat against New Zealand

Bangladesh Under-19 Cricket team conceded four wickets defeat against New Zealand in their 2nd official warm-up match at St John’s College ground in Johannesburg on Wednesday, ahead of the 13th edition of ICC U-19 World Cup’ 2020 that is beginning in South Africa on January 17.

Hosts South Africa will play Afghanistan in the opening match on January 17 at Diamond Oval in Kimberley.

The rain interrupted first warm-up match between Bangladesh and Australia ended in a tie on Monday (January 13) at the Villiers Oval in Pretoria with Australia scoring 250 for all in reduced 43 overs replying to Bangladesh’s 250 for 6 in 43 overs.

Sent into bat first in the day’s 2nd warm-up match, the Young Tigers were bundled out cheaply for 112 runs in just 29 overs losing first five wickets for only 23 runs in 6.2 overs.

After the initial batting collapse, consistence performer Towhid Hridoy pairing captain Akbar Ali partly repaired the early damage contributing 57 runs in the 6th wicket stand but finally failed to make a good total.

Number five Towhid Hridoy scored 46-ball 36 runs hitting five boundaries, number seven Akbar Ali scored 45-ball 23 runs featuring three fours while Shamim Hossain made 25-ball 20 runs with two fours and one six, were notable batsmen for Bangladesh.

JFA Field grabbed four wickets for 35 runs while A Ashok took three for 35 runs.

In reply, New Zealand easily reached their target scoring 115 runs for the loss of six wickets in 29.3 overs captain cum middle order batsman JH Taskoff contributing unbeaten 41 runs off 42 deliveries featuring five boundaries.

Besides, RA Mariu (32), QLM Sunde (not out 19) and FF Lellman (11) were the other notable scorers for the Kiwiz.

Tanzid Hasan claimed three wickets for 30 runs while Rakibul Hasan took two for 39 runs.

The Young Tigers left Dhaka for South Africa on January 3, under the leadership of wicket-keeper batsman Akbar Ali and conducted a 10-day training camp there before the World Cup. 

Sixteen teams, split in to four groups, will initially participate in the ICC U-19 global meet scheduled for South Africa from January 17 to February 9 with hosts South Africa taking on Afghanistan in the opening match on January 17 at Diamond Oval in Kimberley.

Holders India, Japan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka are placed in Group A, Australia, England, Nigeria and West Indies are in Group B. Bangladesh, Pakistan, Scotland and Zimbabwe are in Group C while Afghanistan, Canada, South Africa and the United Arab Emirates are in Group D.

In Group C matches, Bangladesh will play Zimbabwe in the first match on January 18 at Senwas Park in Potchefstroom in South Africa before taking on Scotland on January 21 at Witrand Cricket field in Potchefstroom and Pakistan on January 24 at Senwas Park in Potchefstroom.

After the group matches, top two teams of each group will qualify for the Super League (quarter-finals) while the bottom two teams will have to play in Plate stage (quarter-finals).

The winners of Super League (quarter-finals) will advance to the semifinals while the winners of the Plate (quarter-finals) will qualify for the Plate semifinals.