Dhaka Platoon post second successive win in BBPL

Sun Online Desk

14th December, 2019 10:39:25 printer

Dhaka Platoon post second successive win in BBPL

Dhaka Platoon registered their second successive win in the ongoing Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) beating Sylhet Thunder by 24 runs at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Saturday.

Thunder won the toss and sent Platoon to bat first, who posted 182 runs for four wickets in 20 overs with the help Anamul Haque Bijoy’s first fifty (62 off 42 with eight fours and one six) of the season.

Tamim Iqbal and Anamul added 85 runs in 9.4 overs, which laid down a good foundation for Platoon to set a challenging total for the Thunder.

Apart from Anamul, Tamim posted 31 off 28 with five fours. Along with them, Laurie Evans (21 off 21), Jaker Ali (20 off 12) and Thisara Perera (22 off 11) also did well with the bat.

All of Nayeem Hasan, Ebadot Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain and Delwar Hossain took one wicket each.

In reply, Thunder captain Mosaddek hit unbeaten 60 off 44 with four fours and two sixes but his effort went in vain as the Thunder ended their innings on 158 for seven in 20 overs.

Thunder batsmen Rony Talukdar (14 off 11), Andre Fletcher (10 off 6), Johnson Charles (19 off 8), Nayeem Hasan (10 off 13) and Delwar Hossain (17 off 15) reached two-digit scores, but they were not good enough to avoid a defeat.

Platoon captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Hasan Mahmud bagged two wickets each.

Platoon will face Chattogram Challengers in their next game on December 18 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium while Thunder will take one the same ton December 17 at the same venue.