Abrar Fahad Murder Case

BUET expels 26 students for life

Sun Online Desk

22nd November, 2019 01:43:23 printer

BUET expels 26 students for life

The authorities of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) finally expelled its 26 students who have been chargesheeted in the Abrar Fahad murder case. The varsity authorities also suspended the studentship of six other students for different terms.

Director of Chhatro-Kalyan Directorate issued a notice regarding this matter on Thursday night.

The notice said the Board of Residence and Discipline of the University took the decision of the expulsion against the following students on the basis of the report submitted by the probe committee that was formed to look into the tragic killing of BUET student Abrar Fahad.

According to the expulsion notice, among 26 expelled students 25 had been named in the charge sheet of Abrar Fahad murder case submitted by the Detective Branch of police on November 13 (Wednesday).

The expelled 26 students are—Mehedi Hasan Russel (1304098) of civil engineering batch-13, general secretary of BUET BCL; Muhtasim Fuad (1404010) of civil engineering batch-14, vice-president; Md. Anik Sarker (1510083) of mechanical engineering batch-15, the secretary of information and research affairs; Mehedi Hasan Robin (1502050) of chemical engineering batch-15, the organising secretary; Ifti Mosharraf Sokal (1618027) of biomedical engineering batch-16, the deputy social welfare secretary; Md. Moniruzzaman Monir, (1616028) of naval architecture and marine engineering department batch 16; Ishtiaq Ahmed Munna (1510069) of mechanical engineering batch-15, the publication affairs secretary; Md. Meftahul Islam Zion (1512047) of naval architecture and marine engineering batch-15, the sports secretary; Md. Mazedur Rahman (1711023), materials and metallurgical engineering department; Md. Muzahidur Rahman Muzahid (1606116) of civil engineering batch-16, Khandaker Tabakkarul Islam Tanvir (1610100) of mechanical engineering batch-16; Hossain Mohammad Toha (1710123), mechanical engineering batch 17; Md. Morshed-uz-Zaman Mondal (1606154), batch 16; Md Akash Hossain (1604194), civil engineering batch 16; Md. Shamim Billah (1712054), a naval architecture and marine engineering departments of BUET batch 17; ASM Nazmus Sadat, (1710108) of mechanical engineering 17; Ehteshamul Rabbi Tanim, (1704135) of civil engineering batch 17; Morshed Amartya Islam (1710141), mechanical engineering batch 17; Moaz Abu Huraira (1706106), computer science and engineering batch 17; Muntasir Alam Jemi (1710087) of chemical engineering batch-17; Amit Shaha (1604151), civil engineering batch 16; Muztaba Rafid (1602017), chemical engineering batch 16; Ishtiaq Ahmed Munna (1510069), mechanical engineering batch 15; Shamsul Arefin Rafat (1710103), mechanical engineering 17; Md. Mizanur Rahman (1616004), naval architecture and marine engineering departments batch 16; and 26. SM Mahmud Setu (1402004), chemical engineering batch.

The other six students who have been expelled for different terms are—Abu Nawshad Sakib (1705107), Md. Saiful Islam (1706156), Mohammad Galib (1711002), Md. Shawon Mia (1712039), Sakhawat Iqbal Avi (1706138), and Md. Ismail (1612041).