SAFF U-15 Women’s: India edge Bangladesh on penalties to lift trophy


16th October, 2019 10:27:55 printer

SAFF U-15 Women’s: India edge Bangladesh on penalties to lift trophy

India clinched the SAFF U-15 Women’s Championship title for the 2nd time in a row, but were evenly matched all the way by Bangladesh. In the end, it took a tie-breaker to separate the two sides, which India clinched 5-3 to lift the trophy at the Changlimithang Stadium in Thimpu, Bhutan on Tuesday.

The final match of the 3rd edition of regional soccer meet between two teams ended in a goalless draw at the end of the stipulated period.

In tie breaker, Sumati Kumari, Mlynda Kom Serto, Kiran, Sunita Munda and Shilky Devi Hemam scored for India while Rojina Akhter, Nasrin Akhter and Afedia Khandokar scored for Bangladesh.

Indian girls continued their domination with attacking football from the very beginning of the game while Bangladesh equally put pressure on their opponents’ defense with counter-attack.

Despite producing some good chances, both sides settled for a goalless draw in the first half.

The second half game was interrupted by power failure for about 20 minutes after 55th minute of play.

Earlier, Bangladesh made a flying start beating hosts Bhutan by 2-0 goals in their first match on 9 October and confirmed their final spot beating Nepal by 2-1 goals in the 2nd match on 11 October.

The Bangladeshi girls showed impressive performance in their last group match after playing 1-1 draw against India U-15 women’s football team last Sunday.

Earlier, Bangladesh claimed their maiden SAFF U−15 Women’s Championship title beating India by 1-0 goal in the final at Kamalapurhere on December 24 in 2017. They then finished runners-up in the SAFF U−15 Women’s Championship 2018 after conceding a 0-1 goal defeat against the same team in the final in Thimphu on 18 August.

India: Adrija Sarkhel, Purnima Kumari, Shilky Devi Hemam, Nisha, Lynda Kom Setro, Kiran, Astam Oraon, Amisha Baxla, Purnima Kumari, Babina Devi Lisham, Priyanka Sujeesh Pottekkat.

Bangladesh: Rupna Chakma, Nasrin Akhter, Afedia Khandokar, Unnoti Khatun, Swapna Rani, Shamsunnahar, Shaheda Akhter Ripa, Surma Jannat, Rehena Akhter, Rojina Akhter, Sohagi Kisku.

Referee: Choki Om (Bhutan).