Bangladesh reach semifinal after playing goalless draw with India


23rd September, 2019 07:04:11 printer

 Bangladesh reach semifinal after playing goalless draw with India

Bangladesh reached to the semi-finals of the SAFF Under-18 Championship’2019 with unbeaten run after playing a goalless draw against their giant neighbor India in the 2nd and last group match at APF Stadium in Kathmandu on Monday.
Last times runners-up Bangladesh, which made a flying start beating Sri Lanka by 3-0 goals in their first match on Saturday, dominated the group securing four points from two matches.

India followed Bangladesh securing one points from first group B match and will play their 2nd and last group match against Sri Lanka on September 25 to decide the other semifinalists from the group. 

Both the semifinals will be held on September 27 while the final match is scheduled to be held on September 29, all at APF Stadium in Kathmandu.

In the day’s match, both Bangladesh and India tried their best for results but ultimately failed.

In a post-match reaction, Bangladesh Head Coach Andrew Peter Turner said, “I am happy with the teams’ overall performance today (Monday). We have successfully executed our plans in the field and all of our players gave their best in the game. We will try to continue this game in the semis.” 

Earlier, Bangladesh played two times against India in the SAFF U-18 Championships.  
Bangladesh were eliminated from the semifinal of the SAFF U-18 Championship’2015 conceding 3-4 goals defeat against India in penalty shootout in Nepal but two years later Bangladesh crushed them by 4-3 goals in the group match of SAFF U-18 Championship’2017 in Bhutan. 

Four Bangladeshi players including captain Yeasin Arafat, Sadekujaman Fahim, Tanbir Hossain and Mohammad Hridoy were cautioned with yellow cards while two Indians--Narender and Vikram Singh got yellow cards. 
Bangladesh team: Shanto Kumer Ray, Sadekujaman Fahim, Yeasin Arafat, Tanbir Hossain, Kazi Rahad Mia, Maraz Hossain, Amir Hakim Bappi( Omar Faruq Mithu-78th minute), Md Jamir Uddin, Foysal Ahmed Fahim, Md Hridoy (Dipak Roy-68th) and Fahim Morshed.

India: Prabhsukhan Gill (Lalbiakhlua Jongte- 7th), Jitendra Singh, Narender, Vikram Singh, Ninthoinganba Meetei Khumanthem, Aman Chetri (Manvir Singh-59th), Givson Singh, Ricky Shabong, Bikash Yumnam/Ravi Bahadur Rana-(72nd minute), Sumit Rathi, Moriangthem Thoiba Singh.