Rohingyas NID: Election official among 5 sued in Chattogram


17th September, 2019 07:05:13 printer

Rohingyas NID: Election official among 5 sued in Chattogram

The Election Commission on Tuesday filed a case against five people, including an official of Chattogram regional Election Office, for their alleged involvement in providing NID and smart cards to Rohingyas.
Pallabi Chakma, election officer of Double Mooring thana, filed the case with Kotwali Police Station in the morning, said Mohammad Mahsin, officer-in-charge of Kotwali Police Station.

The case was filed under the Digital Security Act and the Election Commission Act, said the OC.

Earlier, on Monday, police arrested three people, including the election official from the election office.

The arrestees were Joynal Abedin, 35, office assistant of Double Moorning election office, Bijoy Das, 26, a driver by profession and Sheema Das alias Sumaiya Akter, 24, an employee of Chattogram Government General Hospital.

According to sources at the EC, the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) has found that false NID and smart cards were prepared for Rohingyas using an EC laptop which went missing from its Chattogram office. 

But the ACC could not confirm whether the laptop was stolen or handed over to someone by election officials.

A total of 46 Rohingyas have so far been identified who were included in the voter list.

The voter ID cards were prepared in 14 thana election offices in six districts with 74 registration forms. 

Meanwhile, the EC has blocked the NID server for further investigation into the matter.

By the time, three members of an NID forgery gang were arrested in Chattogram and Cox’s Bazar.

On September 1, an alleged Rohingya robber leader who was killed in a reported gunfight with law enforcers in Teknaf of Cox’s Bazar had an NID card. 

Bangladesh is now hosting over 1.1 million Rohingyas. More than 730,000 Rohingya fled to Bangladesh after the Myanmar military launched a brutal offensive targeting the mainly-Muslim ethnic minority on August 25, 2017.