Afghanistan set Bangladesh to chase 165 to win

Sun Online Desk

15th September, 2019 08:13:07 printer

Afghanistan set Bangladesh to chase 165 to win

Photo: Reaz Ahmed Sumon

Afghanistan scored 164 for six against Bangladesh in the third match of ongoing tri-nation T20 series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Mohammad Nabi scored 84 off 54 hammering three fours and seven sixes while Asghar Afghan scored 40 off 37 striking three fours and two sixes.

Bangladesh pace all-rounder Saifuddin took four wickets conceding 33 runs in his stipulated four overs. Captain Shakib Al Hasan took two wickets conceding 18 runs with a maiden in his four overs.

Afghanistan have won the toss and decided to bat first.

Afghanistan have made no change in their playing that won their first game against Zimbabwe. Bangladesh also opted to take the field with the same playing XI that beat Zimbabwe in the first match of the event. 

Before today’s encounter, Bangladesh and Afghanistan played each other in seven T20Is and Afghans won six of them. 

Bangladesh: 1 Liton Das, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Sabbir Rahman, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Afif Hossain, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Taijul Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Afghanistan: 1 Hazratullah Zazai, 2 Rahmanullah Gurbanz (wk), 3 Najeeb Tarakai, 4 Asghar Afghan, 5 Mohammad Nabi, 6 Najibullah Zadran, 7 Gulbadin Naib, 8 Rashid Khan (capt), 9 Karim Janat, 10 Fareed Ahmed, 11 Mujeeb Ur Rahman