Zimbabwe loss five wickets, score 64/5

Sun Online Desk

13th September, 2019 08:49:19 printer

Zimbabwe loss five wickets, score 64/5

Photo: Reaz Ahmed Sumon

Mosaddek dismissed Willams after pace all-rounder Shaifuddin’s removal of danger man Masakadza. Zimbabwe scored 64/5 after 9.3 overs.

Earlier Mustafizur Rahman and Taijul removed Ervine and Taylor respectively. Tijul is on debut takes wicket with his first ball in the format and gives Tigers their first breakthrough.

Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan has won the toss and elected to field first in their triangular T20I series opener against Zimbabwe at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium today. 

The match has been reduced to 18-overs-a-side. The toss took place at 7:45 pm and the match started at 8:00 pm. The match was originally scheduled to start at 6:30 pm but wet outfield due to overnight and early morning shower delayed the start of the play.

It was raining in Mirpur since the morning on Friday. But hours before the game, the rain stopped and groundsmen put their best foot forward to make the field ready to host the game.

Along with Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, Afghanistan are also taking part in this event.

Playing XI:

Bangladesh: Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan (Cap), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taijul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman.

Zimbabwe:  Ryan Burl, Brendan Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Timycen Maruma, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Tony Munyonga, Neville Madziva, Kyle Jarvis and Tendai Chatara