10 DU students get Prof. Sitara Parvin Award


26th August, 2019 03:59:51 printer

10 DU students get Prof. Sitara Parvin Award

A total of 10 students of the Department of Mass Communication and Journalism of Dhaka University (DU) have been awarded Prof. Sitara Parvin Award-2018 for their outstanding performances in BSS (Hons.) examinations in 2018.

Dhaka University Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman distributed certificates and cheaques among the recipients as the chief guest at a function held   at R. C. Mojumder Arts auditorium of the university on Monday.

The recipients are- Mehjabin Bashir Tuly, Sharmin Jahan Juha, Fayaz Ahmed, Abdur Razzak Sohel, Tonmoy Saha Joy, Namrata Talukder Arpa, Tahmina Akter Jeny, Sumaiya Tanim, Shamima Nasrin and Meherun Nahar Meghla.

Director of DU Center for Genocide Studies and Professor of International Relations Department Dr. Imtiaz Ahmed delivered a memorial speech on late Prof. Sitara Parvin at the function with chairperson of the department Prof. Dr. Kaberi Gayen in the chair.

DU Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman paid glowing tributes to the memory of Prof. Dr. Sitara Parvin and said she was an honest, sincere and devoted teacher of the university.

Prof Sitara Parvin, a former teacher of the MCJ department and daughter of former president Justice Shahabuddin Ahmed, died in a road accident in the USA on June 23, 2005.