West Indies choose to bat in final India ODI


14th August, 2019 08:10:15 printer

West Indies choose to bat in final India ODI

West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and chose to bat first against India in Wednesday's third and final One-Day International of their series, at the Queen's Park Oval in Trinidad.

India hold an unassailable 1-0 lead following the a 59-run win via the DLS method in the second ODI at the same venue on Sunday, as rain forced the abandonment of the first match in Guyana as a no-result last week.

Virat Kohli's team has just one change from the game three days ago with an exchange of wrist-spinners as right-armer Yuzvendra Chahal replaces left-armer Kuldeep Yadav, who claimed the vital wickets of Shimron Hetmyer and top scorer Evin Lewis in the second ODI.

West Indies have opted to omit two of their pacers -- Sheldon Cottrell and Oshane Thomas -- in preference for all-rounder Keemo Paul and left-arm spinner Fabian Allen.


West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach.

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite (BAR), Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)