Narine, Pollard named in West Indies squad for India T20Is | 2019-07-23

Narine, Pollard named in West Indies squad for India T20Is


23rd July, 2019 03:19:49 printer

Narine, Pollard named in West Indies squad for India T20Is

Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard have been included in the 14-man West Indies squad for the first two T20Is against India, it was announced on Tuesday (July 23).

Andre Russell too has been named but will have to undergo a fitness test before the two games in Florida. Chris Gayle made himself unavailable for the series and will feature in Canada's Global T20 League instead.

Narine last played a T20I for West Indies in September 2017 against England. Wicketkeeper-batsman Anthony Bramble, who has played 12 T20 games and 46 List A games, has earned a maiden call-up to the side that also includes Khary Pierre and John Campbell.

"This squad is an excellent balance of experience and youth," interim chairman of the selection Panel Robert Haynes said.

"It's not just about the present but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title.

We have to make sure that we put certain things in place now so that when it comes to picking the squad for the T20 World Cup, it becomes easier, so we are giving more players the opportunity to play and get the exposure.

"We felt that players like Narine and Pollard, who have played well in T20 leagues around the World, once they are fit and mentally ready to play, we must give them the opportunity to represent the West Indies again."

Bramble was recently picked by Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL draft and has also led the West Indies B side to the final of the Global T20 Tournament last year. In his 46 List A games, he's scored 640 runs at an average of 21.33 and has 70 runs from 12 T20 games.

"We have been following his performances in regional competitions over the years and it cannot be forgotten that he led the West Indies 'B' Team to the GT20 in Canada, and that team did well to reach the Final," Haynes said. "We figured that though Nicholas Pooran will be the first-choice wicketkeeper, we needed to have someone to deputise in case something unexpected happens and he is a perfect choice. He is 27 and has a lot of ambition, and we saw his character come out the way he batted whenever Guyana Jaguars were in problems in the West Indies Championship and Super50 Cup, so we know he is capable of getting the job done."

After the first two T20Is in Florida (on August 3 and 4), the final match of the series will be played in Guyana (on August 6) before the three-match ODI series and two Tests.


Squad: John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicolas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite (c), Keemo Paul, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Andre Russell, Khary Pierre.