Asian Indoor Hockey: Bangladesh crush Chinese Taipei 9-0


20th July, 2019 06:52:53 printer

Asian Indoor Hockey: Bangladesh crush Chinese Taipei 9-0

Bangladesh National Hockey team finished 7th among 10 nations in the 8th AHF Men's Asian Indoor Hockey 2019, crushing Chinese Taipei by 9-0 goals in the place-deciding match at Chonburi in Thailand on Saturday.

Ashraful Islam, Md Milon Hossain and captain Farhad Ahmed Shitul scored two goals each while Rasel Mahmud Jimi, Mainul Islam Koushik and Khorshedur Rahman netted one goal each for Bangladesh. 

Ashraful opened the account for Bangladesh converting a penalty corner correctly in the 5th minute (1-0).
In the 15th minute, Milon put Bangladesh ahead of the opponents netting a field goal (2-0) while Ashraful widened the margin converting his second penalty corner in the 18th minute (3-0). 

Just before the half time, Milon and Jimi consecutively bagged two more goals for the Bangladeshi side in the 20th minute (5-0).
Bangladesh continued their domination over Chinese Taipei within the opening minute of the second half. 

In the 26th minute, captain Shitul raised the margin with a field goal for Bangladesh scoring his first goal of the tournament (6-0). 

Then, Mainul Islam Koushik, who made double hat-trick against the Philippines on Wednesday, scored his eighth goal of the tournament in the 28th minute (7-0).  

Shitul netted his second goal converting a penalty corner in the 32nd minute (8-0) while Khorshedur Rahman sealed the fate of the match scoring the 9th goal of the match in the 33rd minute (9-0).  

Earlier, Bangladesh finished 4th in the 5-team Pool A securing 3 points from four matches with one win and three defeats. 

They posted their first win in the tournament beating the Philippines by 9-0 goals on July 17 while suffered 0-6 goals defeat to Malaysia on July 15, 0-8 goals defeat to holders Iran on July 16 and 1-3 goal defeat to hosts Thailand on July 18.
The team are expected to return home on Monday (July 22). 

Top Bangladeshi scorers: Mainul Islam Koushik (8), Ashraful Islam (3), Rasel Mahmud Jimi (3), Md Milon Hossain (2), Farhad Ahmed Shitul (2), Khorshedur Rahman (1).

Bangladesh Squad: Rasel Mahmud Jimi, Mainul Islam Koushik, Fazle Rabbi Hossain, Ashim Gope (GK), Imran Hasan Pintu, Ashraful Islam, Farhad Ahmed Shitul (C), Khorshedur Rahman, Sarwar Hossain, Roman Sarkar, Milon Hossain, Abu Sayed Nippon (GK).