Cluster system admission test at Agri-varsities from this year

Staff Correspondent

18th July, 2019 09:44:51 printer

Cluster system admission test at Agri-varsities from this year

The government is going to introduce a ‘cluster system’ admission test to enroll students into honour’s courses at agricultural universities of the country under 2019-20 academic session.

The decision was taken at 260th standing committee meeting of Bangladesh Bishwabidyalay Parishad (BBP), a platform of vice-chancellors of public universities across the country, held at Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University (SAU) in the capital on Thursday.

BBP president Prof Kamal Uddin Ahmed, also VC of Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University presided over the meeting while vice-chancellors of 29 universities including National University VC Harun-or-Rashid, Jagannath University VC Prof Mijanur Rahman took part in the meeting.

The date of the cluster system admission test will be fixed from a meeting on July 29.

The cluster system admission system will be held in seven universities----five agricultural universities and two agriculture related universities---from this year.

The universities are: Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University (BSMRAU), Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University (SAU), Khulna Agricultural University (KAU), and Sylhet Agricultural University (SAU), Patuakhali Science and Technology University (PSTU), and Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University.

Students will able to admit in those seven universities appearing in lone admission test. The initiative is likely to reduce hassle faced by students and guardians during separate admission tests of these universities.

Bangladesh Agricultural University will lead the admission process this year and the examinations will be conducted under the leadership of other universities on the basis of seniority in phases.