5th phase upazila polls fair: EC Secretary

Sun Online Desk

18th June, 2019 09:15:58 printer

5th phase upazila polls fair: EC Secretary

Election Commission (EC) Secretary Md Alamgir claimed that the fifth phase of the upazila parishad election was held in fair and peaceful atmosphere.

He came up with the claim in a post-poll press conference at the Nirbachan Bhaban in the capital’s Sher-e-Bangla Nagar area on Tuesday.

The EC Secretary said that the final phase of the upazila parishad election finished in fair manner ‘except some separate incidents’.

Voting in the fifth and final phase of the upazila parishad election in 23 upazilas in different districts ended on Tuesday afternoon.

The balloting began at 9:00am and continued till 5:00pm without any break.

Alamgir said, “Some wicked persons have tried to crate trouble at 1 to 2 poll centres. But they were not successful.”

A hurried effort is being made to declare the poll result soon, the EC Secretary informed.

The 23 upazilas include Nakla in Sherpur district, Naldanga in Natore, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Sundarganj in Gaibandha, Rangabali in Patuakhali, Taltali in Barguna, Gazipur Sadar, Narayanganj Bandar, Madaripur Sadar, Kalukhali in Rajbari, Shayestaganj in Habiganj, Bancharampur and Bijoynagar in Brahmanbaria, Cumilla Adarsha Sadar, Cumilla Sadar Dakkhin, Noakhali Sadar, Pabna Sadar, Purbadhala in Netrakona, Jamalganj Sadar, Katiadi in Kishoreganj, Mathbaria in Pirojpur and Chhagalnaiya in Feni.

Earlier, elections to 463 upazila parishads out of the country’s 491 were held in the first four phases held on March 10, 18, 24 and 31 respectively.